NTRB Scholarships awarded to alumni

The Australian Government Rio Tinto NTRB Scholarship Program has been administered by the Aurora NTRB Scholarships team since 2005.  The Program has led to 21 lawyers selected to undertake a Master of Laws (LLM) in Mineral Law and Policy at the Centre for Energy, Petroleum and Mineral Law and Policy (CEPMLP) at the University of Dundee in Scotland, 18 of whom are from 9 NTRBs.  This program will no longer be administered by Aurora at this time. 

The following 4 scholarships recipients were Aurora alumni:

  • Amy Dennison (NLC) - the top-ranking LLM student for that cohort
  • Matthew Punch (NTSCORP) - top-ranking LLM student of that cohort
  • Ross Mackay (NTSCORP)
  • Elke Nagy (YMAC).

The team has also been administering the Native Title Research Scholarship Program since 2011 and since that time 4 candidates have been awarded scholarships.  PM&C has requested that Aurora continue to administer the Native Title Research Scholarship Program through the completion of the two current Scholars, however no more scholarships will be offered until further notice.  

The following scholarship recipient was an Aurora alumna:

  • Emma Somerville, who went on to work at NTSV and is now working at the CLC.